How single hurts

I take the whole length of the couch and sleep in the middle of my bed just so I can fill this empty space, pretend it doesn’t exist.

I play my music and get lost in books or stories to surround myself with noise, as if the silence isn’t there.

I wrap myself in my blanket and spend an eternity in the shower for the illusion of someone’s warmth, which is absent.

I avert my eyes when couples pass and avoid the foods you’d eat together in order to keep up the illusion, that I’m not alone.

I sit on an empty bed surrounded by silence wrapped in a blanket, all alone….

Something to say?

